Author Interview – Armond Boudreaux

14086923I got a little bogged down, and got out of my schedule of posting a weekly author interview. This week, I am interviewing Armond Boudreax, dad, professor and author of several literary criticism pieces, as well as That He May Raise, a collection of short stories.

Since I started blogging book reviews two years ago, I have had the privilege of “meeting” several authors and people in the book industry. But in this case, I knew the author before he published a book. I first met Armond, (or Beaux as I knew him back then) when we were in college, just a few years ago ūüėČ

I won’t go into a long bio about Beaux, I will leave links to his author pages where you can read that. But his sense of humor clearly shines through in this interview. It was my pleasure to interview my friend, as well as read his book. Keep an eye for a review, I will have that up soon.

(1) How would you describe your writing process?

I get up early in the morning (at around 4:45) and sit in a dark room with my computer. I listen to music (usually classical).

(2) Do you have any strange writing habits?

Er, maybe? I don’t know. I suppose getting up before dawn is strange, but I do that out of necessity. I teach and have four kids, so early morning is the best time for me to write.


(3) What authors inspired you to write (if any)?

I couldn’t possibly list them all. I suppose the FIRST writer to inspire me to write was Stephen King. But since then a number of writers have moved me in one way or another: Tolkien, Fitzgerald, Flannery O’Connor, John Donne, Homer. That’s a pretty wide variety, but my reading is widely varied.


(4) How do you choose character names?

I have no idea.


(5) Favorite Book(s):

Again, I have too many to list (and not all technically fit the description “book”):¬†The Lord of the Rings, The Odyssey, Gatsby, The Screwtape Letters, Hamlet, The Merchant of Venice, A Song of Ice and Fire, As I Lay Dying. I could go on for pages. (And I haven’t even mentioned any graphic novels.)


(6) Favorite Author(s):

I’m really bad at favorites. Tolkien is certainly at the top of my list. I also love Shakespeare, Homer,¬†C.S. Lewis, George R. R. Martin, Flannery O’Connor, and¬†William Faulkner. And again, I could go on.¬†


(7) What book do you wish that you had written?

Er, Twilight? Because then I’d be rich?¬†Seriously, I don’t know.

(8) What do you consider to be your best accomplishment?

I don’t think of myself as very accomplished. But the best accomplishment I aspire to is being a good husband and father.

 

(9) Have you always wanted to write?

For as long as I can remember.

 

(10) What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Read a lot, and read widely.


(11) If you could pick one other job, besides writing books and what you currently do besides writing books, what would that be?

Designing props for films.


(12) Is there one subject that you would never write about?

Arachnology (Agreed)


(13) What do you have going on right now? What can we expect next from you?

I’m working on a series of fantasy novels. (Yay, I’m so excited about that!)


(14) Do you listen to music when you write? If so, tell me 3-5 songs on your playlist.

 

“Sarajevo” by Max Richter
“Ferns” by Z√∂e Keating
“Etude no. 2” by Phillip Glass


(15) Do you or have you incorporate(d) real life experiences into your books?

Yes. I would tell you which ones, but that might incriminate me.

Crazy Questions:
(1) Have you ever been in a bar fight?

Will I sell more books if I say yes?


(2) A lot of times, characters in book find themselves in hard to get out of situations. When was the last time you found yourself in one of those and what did you do?

I never get into tight situations because I’m always prepared and organized. Writers are always prepared and organized.


(3) What is your biggest fear?

Spiders. Or clowns. Or spider clowns. (Again, I agree.)


(4) What do you want written on your tombstone?

Armond Boudreaux: 1981-2099

 

(5) Do you have any secret talents? 

 

I do, but I can’t tell you about them because they’re secrets. (I CAN tell you that he is a very talented drummer)


(6) What is one place you have never been, but would love to go?

 

Rome


(7) If you were a superhero, what would your name be? And your power?

There are literally thousands of superheroes out there, so I doubt anything I came up with would be original. But if I could be a superhero, it would be Captain America.


(8) If you were an animal, what animal would you be?

No idea.


(9) What is one thing you would like to accomplish before you die?

See #8 in the first set of questions. 


(10) If you could have an accent from anywhere in the world, what accent would you choose?

 

I’d like to have an accent for every day of the week. On Monday, I might sound like Benedict Cumberbatch; on Tuesday, Shelby Foote; on Wednesday, Santino Corleone, etc.(That would be awesome.)


(11) Do you have any tattoos? How many?

 

I have two, one on the inside of each forearm.


(12) Do you have any scars? From what? 

None.


(13) What was your favorite toy as a child?

A Tyrannosaurus


(14) What is your favorite food and drink?

Ice cream and ice cream.


(15) If you could be the opposite sex for a day, would you? 

Probably not.

Fabulous answers!

10398658_1284387308253838_1132905854176368081_n

Okay, so you should check out That He May Raise and check out Beaux’s author pages.

Armond Boudreaux Author Facebook Page

Armond Boudreaux Goodreads Author Page

Website

Add That He May Raise on Goodreads

Buy through Livingston Press

Buy on Amazon

 

 

Leave a Reply

