Interview with author Stephanie Blakeman

So, I’ve decided to do some different things on my blog. In addition to reviews and discussion type posts (in the future) I am going to spotlight different authors at least once a week. This will include interviews, guest posts or spotlight posts. Or interviews in addition to a book review.

I’m kicking this part off with an interview of a very good friend of mine, Stephanie Blakeman. Stephanie is the author of the romance novel, If the Key Fits (read my review here). She is in the process of writing her second book. In my review post, I explain a little about how I met and got to know Stephanie. Well, we have only become even closer since that post 🙂 I consider her a good friend and I can’t WAIT to read book number two. I know this lady is going to go places and do great things!

12310429_10156323193840615_4163417249117136327_n

Now, for the interview:

Writing/Book Questions:


(1) How would you describe your writing process?

My writing process is very organized.  I have to start by outlining my book.  From there, I write each section and then piece them together.

(2) Do you have any strange writing habits?

have to put each of my characters on an index card with all their characteristics and life history on the back.  I have to know the background of each character, even if they have a small part.  This tells me how they will react to certain situations and why.

(3) What authors inspired you to write (if any)?
Colleen Hoover is probably my biggest writing inspiration.  She is the perfect example of a humble author.  She wrote her first book with no experience or background and as she became better known; she didn’t change.  Now that she’s made something of herself she puts her time and energy into spreading her good fortune.  She’s certainly someone to look up to. (Love this answer!)

(4) How do you choose character names?

I like to choose names that flow well.  I actually came up with the last name of Calvert before Casey ever came along.  When picking names for strong characters, I try to think of a last name with strength and power.  Casey is an everyday name that portrays a normal girl.  Casey Calvert:  a sweet, normal girl with a badass upbringing.

(5) Favorite Book(s):  

The Rosemary Beach Series:  Abbi Glines, Ugly Love:  Colleen Hoover, F*ck Love:  Tarryn Fisher, Bared to You:  Sylvia Day (Great choices)

(6) Favorite Author(s):  

Colleen Hoover, Abbi Glines, Sylvia Day, Tarryn Fisher, Jamie McGuire (Again, great choices. This is why we are friends haha!)

(7) What book do you wish that you had written?  

Marrow:  Tarryn Fisher.   You have to have a secret deep, dark soul to appreciate Tarryn’s books.  She writes for herself, not for what the readers want, and I admire that about her.

(8) What do you consider to be your best accomplishment?  

My biggest accomplishment was moving three states away at such a young age and starting a new life.  It was a big jump, but without it I wouldn’t be where I am today.

(9) Have you always wanted to write?  

I have always loved reading and writing.  I remember writing short stories in journals when I was young.  I wanted to write stories like the ones I loved to read.

(10) What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Just do it.  Sit down, write, and publish.  Don’t over think it.  Don’t think about what others will think.  When I am writing my first rough draft, I don’t stop to reread or correct.  I just write.  You’ll be surprised what comes out of your mind when you’re not holding back.  You will reread it and think, “Damn, did I write that?” (Fantastic advice)

(11) If you could pick one other job, besides writing books and what you currently do, what would that be?  

I would love to own a gym.  My husband trained MMA and we have always wanted to have a gym like that in our town.  We would want it to be a judgment free zone where confidence is made and respect is earned on the mat. (I would totally be training there if this happened. We need this to happen.)

(12) Is there one subject that you would never write about? 

 I can’t say there is anything I wouldn’t consider writing about.  I actually enjoy incorporating tough topics into my writing.

(13) What do you have going on right now? What can we expect next from you?  

Currently I am writing the background story of If the Key Fits.  Yes, it had been titled and will be another full-length novel.  To all the haters who want more Gavin; your dreams are about to come true.

(14) Do you listen to music when you write? If so, tell me 3-5 songs on your playlist.

I don’t listen to music when I write, but I do hear songs and start writing scenes in my head.  In my current writing I’ve been hearing “Heavy is the Head” by Zac Brown Band.  It’s definitely the theme song for the fall of the Sinner’s Breed MC and its leader.

(15) Do you or have you incorporate(d) real life experiences into your books?
Yes, I do incorporate real life in my books.  It’s usually in a seriously twisted way though.  I’ve been working on a scene in my new book that carries the quote, “I need a friend with a truck, who knows where a dumpster is, and doesn’t ask questions.”  In the book, I’m sure you can figure out the scenario.  In real life, I called my friend and said this to her.  She came right over no questions asked (I know, right?  That’s a true friend).  It wasn’t as cool as you think though.  I needed her to help me take bags of trash to the dumpster that I had been cleaning out of the closet while my hoarder husband was away.  Those are the little things that make writing fun.  Your friends read your books and they immediately know the references. ( I have done this as well!!)
Crazy Questions:
 
(1) Have you ever been in a bar fight?

Back in ‘92, on a cold spring night… Nope.  Never mind, that wasn’t me.

(2) A lot of times, characters in book find themselves in hard to get out of situations. When was the last time you found yourself in one of those and what did you do?

You know, I can’t even think of the last time I was in a hard to get out of situation.  The next question will easily explain why.

(3) What is your biggest fear?

Being a disappointment.  I know that I am not, but I can’t stand the thought of letting someone down.  I’m a people-pleaser at heart and will go out of my way to spare feelings and avoid conflict.  It’s a fatal character flaw I possess.

(4) What do you want written on your tombstone?

I want the definitions of they’re, there, and their written on my tombstone.  In case anyone forgets them, they can come visit.  Judging by Facebook statuses alone, I would get a lot of visitors.

(5) Do you have any secret talents?

Sadly, I lack any coordination or musical talent, but I can clean an oven like nobody’s business.

(6) What is one place you have never been, but would love to go?

Are you ready for this?  I’ve never been to Disney World.  I think I’m the only person in the world who can say that—German children included. ( I have never been either. Road trip?)

(7) If you were a superhero, what would your name be? And your power?

I don’t know what my name would be, but I would want to be able to heal people.  I would be able to do things like suck all the cancer cells out of a child’s blood leaving them happy and healthy again.  Would this make me a type of vampire?  Yeah, I guess so.  Weird, but a great concept all the same.


(8) If you were an animal, what animal would you be?

I would want to be a dog—preferable a shih tzu.  Why you ask?  Come visit my house on any given day and watch Blade sunbathe by the window all afternoon.  You’ll understand.

(9) What is one thing you would like to accomplish before you die?

I want to be a New York Times Best Selling Author.  Yes, I have lofty goals.

(10) If you could have an accent from anywhere in the world, what accent would you choose?

I would want an Australian accent.  I pray that it comes with a tan.

(11) Do you have any tattoos? How many?

Along with a two others, I actually have the tattoo that Casey has in If the Key Fits.  That tattoo was the inspiration for the whole book and carries deep meaning to me.

(12) Do you have any scars? From what? 

I have a scar on my hand from that bar fight in ‘92.  Fine, it’s from washing dishes.  What a loser scar.  I cut my hand open washing a glass that busted.

(13) What was your favorite toy as a child?

I don’t remember having a fondness for any certain toy.  I was a Barbie girl of course.  I had more clothes for my Barbies than I probably had myself.

(14) What is your favorite food and drink?

My favorite food is any type of good, heavy carbs.  I love bread, pasta, potatoes, and all those terribly yummy things.  I have a soft spot for Mountain Dew even though I try to avoid it like the plague.

 
(15) If you could be the opposite sex for a day, would you?

No, I don’t believe I would.  There are so many women who think they need to make it in a “man’s world.”  I’m perfectly accepting of the fact that I am not a man.  All I want to be is a strong woman who never forgets her worth.

This was so much fun. Your answers were great! Thanks again, Stephanie!

2 thoughts on “Interview with author Stephanie Blakeman

  1. What a wonderful interview Steph, love it. I can’t wait to read the second book I’m wait very inpatiently… Lol. Love ya, Jennifer!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

